MARK HAMILL, COLIN FARRELL, OLIVIA COLMAN, JOSH BROLIN and TRAVIS FIMMEL among the stellar lineup of Guests for this Weekend’s IFTA Awards.


The Irish Film & Television Academy is delighted to announce some of the great international and Irish Guest Presenters joining all of the Nominees this year’s at the Virtual IFTA Awards Ceremony.  Among the Nominees this year are Sharon Horgan, Gabriel Byrne, Colm Meaney, Dervla Kirwan, Ciarán Hinds, Brendan Gleeson, Paul Mescal, Nora-Jane Noone, Andrew Scott, Niamh Algar, Adrian Dunbar, Aisling Franciosi, Fiona Shaw, Sarah Greene, Seana Kerslake, Jessie Buckley, Eve Hewson, Nicola Coughlan (see full list of Nominees for this year below). 

Gráinne Seoige will host the 2021 IFTA Film & Drama Awards, which will be broadcast this weekend on Virgin Media One at 10pm.

Sunday night’s IFTA Awards will be a high-calibre virtual gathering from across the screen industry with a stellar line-up of Irish and international Guest Presenters joining in the celebrations.  Minister Catherine Martin will also be among the guests for this night of recognition for Ireland’s leading actors and filmmakers. 

Acting royalty and Academy Award winner Olivia Colman (The Father; The Favourite, The Crown) will present the Best Actor in a Lead Role Film award, while Marvel’s greatest Villain, Thanos himself Josh Brolin (No Country for Old Men; Avengers: Infinity War; Sicario) will be announcing the winner of the Best Film Award. Ireland’s leading man Colin Farrell (The Lobster; In Bruges; Widows) will present Best Director Film, while much-loved Star Wars icon Mark Hamill, Luke Skywalker himself, is set to present the hotly contested Screen Ireland IFTA Rising Star award.  From Star Wars to Star Trek, Orla Brady, fresh from her scene-stealing turn as fan-favourite Laris in Star Trek: Picard, will be on hand to announce The Best Actor in a Lead Role Drama.  Australian Leading man Travis Fimmel (Raised by Wolves), best known for his role as Ragnar Lothbrok in the television series Vikings, will present the award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role Drama.

Other talent confirmed to present an award on the night include six-time Academy Award nominee Jim Sheridan (My Left Foot, In America, Murder at the Cottage: The Search for Justice for Sophie), Irish Music Icon, humanitarian and political activist Sir Bob Geldof, and breakout Irish star Fionn O’Shea (Normal People, Dating Amber, Handsome Devil) are also among this year’s presenters.

One of Ireland's best-loved comedians and actresses Deirdre O’Kane returns to the show as a guest presenter this year, as does last year’s IFTA-award winner for Best Actor Film Tom Vaughan Lawlor (Marvel’s Avengers, Rialto, Love/Hate) who will present the coveted Irish Academy Award for Best Drama.

Irish Writer and actor Mark O’Halloran (Adam & Paul, The Virtues, Rialto), The Man in the High Castle star Jason O’Mara (Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D, The Siege of Jadotville) Mayans M.C. star Sarah Bolger (In America, Agent Carter) will also be doing the honours.

Liam Neeson and Pierce Brosnan, who presented key IFTA Awards last year, join in the celebrations again this year with some special contributions for the audience back home. 

CEO of the Irish Film & Television Academy, Áine Moriarty, said of this year’s show:

 “We’re delighted to bring together such an illustrious group of Irish and International screen talent to celebrate the ongoing growth and success of our industry in Ireland. We look forward to welcoming them all alongside this year’s incredible IFTA Nominees with our fabulous host Gráinne Seoige leading the way.” 


Other Nominees in the running across other key Award categories this year include: 

Gabriel Byrne, Brendan Gleeson, Ciarán Hinds, Aisling Franciosi, Colm Meaney, Paul Mescal, James Nesbitt, Andrew Scott, Fiona Shaw, Nora-Jane Noone, Nika McGuigan, Adrian Dunbar, Niamh Algar, Eve Hewson, Nicola Coughlan, Jessie Buckley, Gemma-Leah Devereux, Sharon Horgan, Moe Dunford, Saoirse Ronan, Catherine Walker, Dervla Kirwan, Fionn O'Shea, Brian Gleeson, Michael Smiley, Conleth Hill, Ned Dennehy, Tristan Heanue, Barry Ward, Sarah Greene, Seána Kerslake, Lola Petticrew, Kathy Kiera Clarke, Desmond Eastwood, Éanna Hardwicke, Ally Ní Chiaráin, Molly McCann.

Lenny Abrahamson, Cathy Brady, David Freyne, Lorcan Finnegan, Paddy Slattery Tomm Moore & Ross Stewart Malcolm Campbell, Will Collins, Dathaí Keane, Dearbhla Walsh, Imogen Murphy, Steve St. Leger, Sally Rooney, Lisa McGee, Kate O’Riordan, John Morton, Declan Lawn, Adam Patterson, Cathal Watters, Ciaran Tanham, James Mather, Kate McCullough, Suzie Lavelle among many more.

See full list of 2021 IFTA Nominees HERE.

The IFTA Awards is funded by Fís Éireann/Screen Ireland, and also supported by the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI), Tourism Ireland and Virgin Media Television.

Press Queries 

For all press enquiries please contact: 

IFTA Press Office: Heather Mackey 087 749 5713.