The Irish Film & Television Academy Announce 2017 IFTA Film & Drama Awards Winners

14th of March 2017

Broadcast Date:

22:15 on RTÉ One on Tuesday, April 11th.

View full list below / here

·  Best Film Award goes to A Date for Mad Mary

·  OA star Paddy Gibson takes Rising Star Award

·  Double awards for A Date for Mad Mary & triple for The Siege of Jadotville

·  Oscar Nominees Ruth Negga & Consolata Boyle both award recipients

·  The Secret Scripture earns double awards in craft

Dublin, Saturday, April 8th, 2017: The annual IFTA Film & Drama Awards tonight, which for the second time was hosted by actress and comedienne Deirdre O’Kane, crowned A Date for Mad Mary with the title of Best Film, with cast member Charleigh Bailey also taking home the IFTA for Best Supporting Actress Film.  The Award was presented by James Nesbitt.

Colm Meaney received the IFTA for Best Lead Actor Film for his portrayal of the late Martin McGuinness in Nick Hamm’s The Journey. The Award was presented by Fionnula Flanagan.

Three Awards went to Richie Smyth’s debut feature The Siege of Jadotville, with Smyth accepting the award for Best Director Film and Jason O’Mara receiving Best Supporting Actor Film. The film also won for VFX (Windmill Lane VFX). Peter Foott Picked up the IFTA for best Script for The Young Offenders.

Best Lead Actress in Film was awarded to Loving star Ruth Negga.

The prestigious George Morrison Feature Documentary Award went to Dave Clarke and Ciarán Deeney, the team behind Colm Quinn’s Mattress Men.

Best Short Film went to Dave Tynan for viral project Heartbreak while Animated Short went to IADT graduate Vincent Gallagher for stop motion project Second to None.

The Rising Star award sponsored by the Irish Film Board went to The OA and Property of the State actor Patrick Gibson, who accepted his award from Bleed for This actor Ciarán Hinds.

Highlights for drama categories are led by Vikings team Morgan O'Sullivan & James Flynn accepting the coveted title of Best Drama, with an additional award for Best Make-Up & Hair for Dee Corcoran & Tom McInerney on the History Channel series shot in Co. Wicklow, Ireland.

Best Lead Actor in Drama this year goes to Cillian Murphy for Peaky Blinders with Amy Huberman taking the Best Lead Actress in Drama for new homegrown series Striking Out which was presented by Stephen Rea.

Another flagship achievement in original Irish drama is James Phelan’s award for Best Script Drama for Centenary comedy Wrecking the Rising.

Supporting acting talent in drama sees Charlie Murphy honoured for Happy Valley and Ned Dennehy for Irish language western series An Klondike.  

Consolata Boyle of Florence Foster Jenkins achieved the award for Best Costume Design for this, her sixth award of a total nine Irish Academy nominations to date.

Seamus McGarvey came out on top of the Director of Photography category for his work on Tom Ford’s Nocturnal Animals, and Nick Emerson for Best Editing on Billy O’Brien’s I Am Not A Serial Killer.

The Secret Scripture took double craft awards with Derek Wallace awarded the IFTA for Best Production Design and Brian Byrne taking the award for Best Original Music.

The Siege of Jadotville took home its third award for Best VFX, which went to Tim Chauncey of Windmill Lane VFX. Juanita Wilson’s second feature Tomato Red earned the award for Best Sound tonight, for the work of Niall Brady, Ken Galvin & Steve Fanagan.

Best International Film was Moonlight; Best International Actor Casey Affleck for Manchester by the Sea, Best International Actress  was Emma Stone, for La La Land.

View 2017 Nominations & Winners